30 Day Music Challenge Day 29: I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon (Ernie)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 29 is “a song you remember from your childhood”. Initially I thought I’d be cheeky and link you to the Pinball song (“1-2-3-4-5, 6-7-8-9-10, 11-12!”) from Sesame Street, but that actually served to draw my attention to the brilliant thing about Sesame Street — Children’s Television Workshop actually invested a ton of effort into designing, writing and scripting the show, down to the songs (even this Pinball song has a ton of flavor of the era and is so catchy it’s good for kids learning the numbers).

I Don’t Want To Live On The Moon is one song that stuck with me. It was unusual to see upbeat and always-laughing Ernie actually being introspective for a change, reflecting on the fast-fading fascination of living in far-off places and the immense power of homesickness. Deeper than you’d expect, for sure. In a kid’s show! With puppets and whatnot! And it’s played completely straight, with no punchline at the end to undermine the point being made. Such good stuff can arise when you trust the weight of your material and the learning capacity of your audience.

These days while I entertain the thought and dream of traveling to Tokyo and Paris and New York and whatnot I can’t ever consider living there long-term, which I guess has caused career limitations and such. Blame Thank Ernie!

Leave a Reply

