30 Day Music Challenge Day 19: 100 Years (Five For Fighting)

19cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 19 is “a song that makes you think about life”. Given that so many songs actually do that for me, I picked a song that is directly written as a reflection on what we become at each phase of our lives.

100 Years by Five For Fighting is one of those songs that sneaks up on you. Group releases a few songs playing on familiar themes (Superman, Easy Tonight) and then out of nowhere come these more deep, introspective/reflective songs (100 Years, World). One time during a Lit test we got a poem by Andrew Hudgins called “Blur“, which touches upon very similar themes. I think I even referred this song to the class after the test. (The poem is linked to above — it’s heady stuff but worth a read).

There’s a currently popular song about turning 7 years old, 20 years old, and whatnot, but I feel that while it has its merits it doesn’t really speak to me the way this does. This one isn’t as on-the-nose, for one thing, and is more thought-provoking than sad.

Leave a Reply

