30 Day Music Challenge Day 17: Whenever I Say Your Name (Sting and Mary J. Blige./Jo Lawry)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 17 is “a song that would sing a duet with on karaoke” (?). Again, not something I’m likely to ever do unless you get me drunk enough, and seeing as how I don’t drink…

Originally I’d waffled between Here’s to Love by Renee Zelwegger and Ewan McGregor, which is a nice big-band style song that that vocal showoff McGregor does well in (Zellweger doesn’t do too badly but doesn’t get to go wild) — and Something Stupid, infinitely more survivable than the former if using Robbie Williams’ take (with Nicole Kidman).

But Whenever I Say Your Name was on the playlist recently, and it occurred to me that this deserved attention as well. It’s one of Sting’s 2000s works, originally performed with Mary J. Blige (which probably explains the style of the song). That version plays to their strengths, but I find that I listen more to the Live in Berlin duet with the wonderful Jo Lawry. The former does have the advantage of a super silly music video, though.

 

Leave a Reply

