30 Day Music Challenge Day 16: Waltz from “Sleeping Beauty” (Tchaikovsky)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 16 is “one of your favorite classical songs”, which is an… odd thing to ask. I guess they had to make this a little challenging at some point. Given the “al” tag at the end, I’m taking classical to mean vintage orchestral with iconic (pre-modern) composers. Otherwise I’d probably sub in a Zimmer score track.

Air by Bach is always a lovely song, although depending on the mood I’m in when I hear it I sometimes dismiss it as “too wedding-y.” O Fortuna by Carl Orff is a good all-purpose dramatic track, and you can shoot any number of instantly-more-ominous moments.

 

But today I’ll link you to the waltz from The Sleeping Beauty by Pyotr Ilyitsch Tchaikovsky. I remember getting a few orchestral CDs in at one point (perhaps trying to recapture my days as a five-year-old listening to my big band conductor lolo’s tape recordings of the PC marching band). We know this better as “Once Upon A Dream”, thanks to Disney.

Leave a Reply

