30 Day Music Challenge Day 13: Somebody To Love (Queen)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 13 is “one of your favorite 70’s songs”. As old as I’m getting, I still had to Google this to make sure this was in those bounds.

Queen is just one of the best all-time musical icons; this group left us with countless inventive, memorable songs with playful but strong lyrics and distinctive musical characterization (compare any two Queen songs and, say, any two One Direction songs. Yes, I did go there). Somebody To Love was a 1976 release that has since then gone on to be covered by anyone who wants to lend their vocals to the very striking arrangement.

I was introduced to Queen by a grade school classmate — this was in the early 90s when Wayne’s World (eek) brought Queen’s older material back into prominence. But the guy who really filled me in on everything beyond the then-ubiquitous Bohemian Rhapsody was my Tito Pao, whom I will never tire of crediting with the many, many things he taught me. We miss you, man.

Leave a Reply

