30 Day Music Challenge Day 11: With A Smile (Eraserheads)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 11 is “a song you never get tired of”, and I swear it’s the last Eraserheads/Circus song for at least a few days! Sorry, not sorry. You’ll understand when you find out what song I mean.

I will never, ever tire of hearing With A Smile, by far the most memorable of memorable songs from Circus. (I will also forever somewhat irrationally hold in contempt any attempts to make a cover.)

I’m old enough to have been at the perfect adolescent age for when it was brand new, and this is honestly worth being that old. It’s that good. All the elements are there — deceptively simple lyrics that nevertheless have clever, meaningful statements (In a world where everybody hates a happy-ending story, it’s a wonder love can make the world go ’round) and make this the closest Pinoy alternative has gotten to literary, a smooth, soothing melody accented by the signature “tee-dee-dee-dee” scatting, and Ely Buendia singing at his best.

I have this crystal clear memory of being at Unimart with my mother, waiting for the cashier and bagger to finish totaling up and bagging our groceries, with this playing over the PA system, and on that afternoon time seemed to stop and just let me have a nice day.

 

Leave a Reply

