30 Day Music Challenge Day 8: Alapaap (Eraserheads) and The Drugs Don’t Work (The Verve)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 8 is “a song about drugs or alcohol”. This seemed like an easy one to get wrong, especially since most songs heavily mentioning those tend to be party songs (and when was the last time you saw ME at a party?).

So I’ll go outside the box on this one a little bit. First up is the iconic Alapaap, from the Eraserheads’ sophomore effort Circus. Like Kjwan’s 2stepmarv (the album with yesterday’s song), this second album was full of some of the band’s absolute best and most enduring songs. Alapaap became the center of some controversy when Tito Sotto decided to try and cash in on early-90s drug hysteria by accusing the band of making the song one big veiled reference to drug use. (Admittedly the band didn’t help its cause there, but who the hell gives a damn, Tito Sotto?).

The Drugs Don’t Work by The Verve is our second out-of-the-box pick for the day, in case you wanted a more direct drug reference. (Seriously, who made this list.) And yup, it’s QUITE a bit more somber, but it’s ironically very soothing-sounding for a sad song. One of the more underrated songs from the group, probably because of its dark subject matter (compared to the cheerier Bittersweet Symphony). While the title and chorus are as serious as they sound, the melody is really very sweet and worth a listen.

‘Cause baby, ooh, if heaven calls, I’m coming, too
Just like you said, you leave my life, I’m better off dead
But if you wanna show, just let me know
And I’ll sing in your ear again
Now the drugs don’t work
They just make you worse
But I know I’ll see your face again

Yeah, I know I’ll see your face again.

 

Leave a Reply

