30 Day Music Challenge Day 6: Come and Get Your Love (Redbone)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 6 is “a song that makes you want to dance”, which is a bit tricky for me because…

Nevertheless, Come and Get Your Love by Redbone is a very recent discovery for me (and I’d wager a great many people), courtesy of Guardians of the Galaxy. Simply one of the best establishing scenes for a character (and in fact for a narrative) you could ask for. Effortlessly set the tone for the whole film.

Infectious beat (that bass line is simply wonderful and impossible to remove from your brain once it’s started) and simple, earnest lyrics make for a very pleasant throwback you could dance to.

You, maybe. Not me. Not with witnesses at least. (It’s for their own good.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

