30 Day Music Challenge Day 5: Song 2 (Blur) and Semi-Charmed Life (Third Eye Blind)

cyjzpsxuaaattux

In an effort to drum up some posting after leaving this blog essentially dormant for, well, too long… here’s me taking the 30 Day Music Challenge. It’s spreading well enough that it’s still interesting, and it’s relevant enough to my interests that it’s worth pursuing. I love music, and I’ve come to associate certain songs with certain parts of my life, and it’s a fun opportunity to talk about some well-remembered songs.

Day 5 is “a song that needs to be played LOUD”. I couldn’t decide which of these two to go with, so I’m listing both (since the first one is a bit short anyway) at no extra cost!

Song 2 by Blur is one of the all-time best hype songs. It’s annoyingly short, to the point where if you were to use it as a wrestling entrance theme you wouldn’t make it to the ring before it wrapped. Nevertheless, it’s such a badass song that keeping this played on loop could be its own Get Psyched mix. I’ve linked an Extended Mix below (the execution is a bit meh at first but it works).

Semi-Charmed Life by Third Eye Blind is one of my favorites the band has ever, ever done. Divorced entirely from the rest of the song (which gets a bit funky lyrically), the title is something I keep referring back to when describing the mixed bag of blessings that’s been my own life (seriously, super mixed bag). The song itself is infectiously upbeat, with the earwormy doot-doot-doo chanting and simple repeating chords doing all of the work — I defy you to find someone who doesn’t know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

